“steven universe” by Cameron Calv

June 8, 2017 § Leave a comment

from “A Crystal Collection of Crystal Gems,” by Cameron Calv

steven universe

Screen Shot 2017-06-08 at 11.01.14 AM

he set himself as being better than anyone else, thus he changed his own name to make him mr. universe instead of being greg demayo, his flaring ego must have shown its ugly face when he performed, he always said that his concerts were so popular and that Mom loved to watch him perform at his concerts he used to have anywhere from a couple to a whole group of people… the fans were few but high-quality but that’s only what he said it was all before I was born so how would I know, when he lights up and ignores the world he thinks back to his artistic days… it’s like I’m forgotten… yet all at the same time he cares for me more than anybody because there’s two sides to him and I’m not sure which one is really the real him… there are two versions of him, dad and mr. universe, and the first is the caring, loving guy who’s been taking care of me since Mom went away and is always worried about my adventures and the other is the him before I knew him… … he and Mom created this video and she spoke to me of how he’ll always be there and would never let anything hurt me but at the same time he sits back and lets me plunge head first into danger like his pride and ego won’t allow him stop me from going out… maybe he does care, perhaps he knows in his heart that he created the best me and the best me is the one who faces danger like it’s nothing… who is dad, I will never know for sure, but at the rate things are going I’m not sure if I want to because despite the split between two personas I feel like I fit somewhere right in the middle

(photograph by Cameron Calv)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “steven universe” by Cameron Calv at Collaborations and Visual Poems.

meta

